Introduction

Hola!

My name is Joshua, some people call me by my nickname Owen and I’m turning 23 this year. Currently taking my degree at the University of Wollongong, majoring in Business Information Systems. I’m not a local born Singaporean as I was born in the Philippines. I’m of Spanish descent and I have a mix of different races which is German, Chinese and Filipino. I may look like a foreigner, but I was brought to Singapore when I was a few months old.

fam.png

Photo with my family~

Since I have shared above that I was originated from the Philippines, I will introduce to you all a few Filipino delicacies that I love to eat besides Singaporean food.

Sizzling Pork Sisig

porksisig

It is a main dish or an appetizer which consists of pork parts (often: head, liver, cheeks) mixed with onions, chiles, citrus, and egg.

Why I love it: The pork is prepped in multiple ways — in this case: boiled then grilled — then served on a sizzling hot plate. It has a savory taste with a crunch to it due to the crispy pork.

Halo – Halo

halohalo

Similar to Singapore’s ‘Ais Kacang’, this is a filipino dessert made with a bountiful of ingredients, including shaved ice, sweet beans, fruit, tapioca, and ‘ube’ ice cream (‘Ube’ is actually purple yam).

Why I love it: Halo-halo means “mix mix” in Tagalog, and that’s exactly what you’re supposed to do with it.

Beef Caldereta

Beef-Kaldereta-3.jpg

It is a hearty meat stew made with potatoes, peppers, and liver sauce.

Why I love it: The stew is traditionally made with goat, but you can also sub in beef or chicken for those who haven’t yet seen the light. It has a sweet and tangy taste due to the mixture of chopped tomatoes and puree.

Music is one of the hobbies that I love. The instruments that I have played was guitar, trombone, percussion and euphonium. Even though I have learned and played this many, my most favourite instrument of them all is the guitar.

lespaulcustom.jpg

This Les Paul custom pro electric guitar is one of the electric guitars that I’ve owned.

I have been practicing music ever since I was in primary school. My love for music started since I was around 5 where I like to listen to multiple bands such as Red Hot Chili Peppers, Metallica, Guns N’ Roses, Muse, Green Day, etc,. As I grow up, I have broadened my musicality through listening to different genres and appreciating diverse kinds of music.

Gaming is one of the things that I have enjoyed ever since I was kid. From owning my very first console (PlayStation One) to collecting multiple game consoles as well as a custom PC for gaming and production.

pubg.jpg

PUBG and PUBG mobile (Playerunknown’s Battlegrounds) is one of the games that I play currently.

It is a survival shooter game that focuses on a player versus player action game in which up to one hundred players fight in a battle royale, a type of large-scale last man standing deathmatch where players fight to remain the last alive.

lul

IMG_5111 (1).PNG

Every gamer is toxic, it’s only a matter of WHEN will they get triggered.

 

Leave a comment